Research Highlights

Rush, along with CEL-SCI Corporation, recently received a $1.5 million grant from the National Institute of Arthritis and Musculoskeletal and Skin Diseases to support development of a rheumatoid arthritis vaccine. The work will be conducted by Tibor Glant, MD, PhD, The Jorge O. Galante Professor of Orthopedic Surgery; and Katalin Mikecz, MD, PhD, professor of Orthopedic Surgery & Biochemistry; as well as CEL-SCI’s research laboratory. Read more here.



The Department of Pathlology’s HLA lab’s abstract received a “poster of distinction” ribbon at the American Transplant Congress’ annual meeting in Chicago, April 29 – May 3. The abstract was “Biomarkers of Epithelial-Mesenchymal Transition (EMT) in Chronic Allograft Nephropathy: Potential for Early Detection and Development of Novel Therapeutic Agents. [abstract]. Am J Transplant. 2017; 17 (suppl 3).” It was authored by the following: Kanangat S., Miller R., Rezaeian S., Eldib H., Cimbaluk D., Fhied C., Kurbegovic-Skaljic I., Prod M., Borgia J., Flaws M., Castillo D. and DeCresce R.



Midwest Orthopaedics at Rush recently received the 2017 “Best Paper” award at the International Society for the Advancement of Spine Surgery. The paper focused on whether or not a higher American Society of Anesthesiologists score means more pain and narcotics use after spinal fusion. Read more here.



The Lynn Sage Foundation recently named Abde Abukhdeir, PhD, assistant professor, Departments of Internal Medicine and Pharmacology, Division of Hematology, Oncology and Cell Therapy, a Lynn Sage Scholar, which includes a research scholarship. The foundation is committed to finding a cure for breast cancer.



Kalipada Pahan, PhD, the Floyd A. Davis, MD, Professor of Neurology, departments of Neurological Sciences, Biochemistry and Pharmacology, recently received the Zenith Fellows Award, the highest honor awarded by the Alzheimer’s Association. This is a three-year grant of $450,000. Award winners are part of a highly recognized group of researchers from around the world who have made significant contributions to the field. The fellowship will support Pahan’s study of whether three novel compounds in the brain can help prevent the formation of the toxic beta-amyloid protein, a hallmark of Alzheimer’s.



Christopher Goetz, MD, United Parkinson Foundation Professor Neurological Sciences, was elected to the French Academy of Medicine in December for his scientific and historical contributions. This is the highest official organization in France for the governmental recognition of physicians who have contributed to French and international medicine. Whereas most elected members are French, there is a tradition of occasionally electing a non-French physician who has been particularly active in French medical research efforts or in the promotion of international collaborations between France and another country. In addition to his contributions to scientific studies and the practice of movement disorders, Goetz has spent many years studying the 19th century French neurologist, Jean-Marie Charcot, who has been considered a founding father of the field of neurology. Goetz has published several books and many articles based on his translations of the original French cases and documents of Charcot.